Skip to main content
Baystate Health About the Library Baystate Education & Research Library Home

Borrowing and Requesting: GUIDE

Books, Requests, Interlibrary Loans, Other Media


Visit the Baystate Health Sciences Library to sign up for a library account. Check the library catalog on our website for materials in our collection. Books, DVDs and CD-Roms in the main library (ground floor of the Chestnut Building) are available for loan to employees with a valid Baystate ID.  Library reference materials at the Health Sciences Library and the Consumer Health Library (3300 Main) can be used on-site.


Baystate Health Sciences Library, 759 Chestnut Street

Baystate patrons with borrowing privileges can sign up for a library account online or in person. We also welcome members of the public to use our electronic and print collections on-site.

Check the library catalog on our website for items that circulate. Books, DVDs and CDs in the Main Library (Chestnut Building, Ground Floor) are available for loan to employees with a valid Baystate ID.  Don't forget to bring your ID badge with you when checking out materials.

Non-circulating items --reference and core books, print journals and archival materials-- can be used on-site at the Main Library (Chestnut) or at our Consumer Health Library, 3300 Main St.

Requesting Articles 

Article requests are handled by our Document Delivery service.

Please request articles online at the library website OR through your account at Loansome Doc . For detailed information consult our guides on Obtaining Articles and Ordering through Loansome Doc.

Baystate Users. Articles and books can be requested by employees with valid IDs and students in Baystate educational programs.


Unaffiliated Users and the Public. We always welcome members of the public to the Library to use our electronic and print collections on-site. To access the Library’s document delivery service, unaffiliated users must sign up for a Loansome Doc account through Docline, and be authorized to place orders through Baystate. Orders for unaffiliated users will be filled through Loansome Doc from our print collection only. 


For Visiting Students. Students completing short-term clinical rotations are asked to order articles through their host institution’s library. Visiting students are always welcome to visit the Library in person to search online and print collections and ask our research librarian, Bridget Gunn, for reference assistance and help with literature searches.


Limits. There is no daily limit on the number of article requests you can submit. However when volume is high, we reserve the right to limit document delivery fulfillment to 10 articles per patron per day. For larger orders, we will continue to fulfill 10 requests per day until all your requests have been processed.

Literature Searches

Request a literature search or contact Bridget Gunn directly.


You can submit your book requests online. If we don't have the title here at the library, we'll request it for you through Interlibrary Loan.


Borrowing. Books from our circulating collection can be borrowed for 3 weeks.

Renewals. Please call us (413.794.1865) or email if you want to renew.

After Hours. Patrons with authorized 24/7 access to the library can use our after-hours checkout to borrow circulating when the library is closed.

Reserves. Please inquire at the front desk for books placed on Reserve. Reserve items can be checked out and used in the library for a limited time.

On-site use. Reference and core books, as well as journals and archival materials, can be used on-site.

Fees. Fees for replacing lost books are determined on case-by-case basis.


DVDs from the Baystate collection can be borrowed for 3 weeks. Check our catalog and submit a DVD request.  We'll place a hold for you if the item you want is out on loan. CDs are also available for 3 weeks. Contact us if you want a renewal and please note there is a fee for replacing lost DVDs and CDs.


Rosetta Stone is available in the Cloud for a  4-week loan period.


Interlibrary Loans

If you need a book that is not in our collection, we will request it through Interlibrary Loan. Borrowing Interlibrary Loan materials requires a valid Baystate ID and your signature. The lending library determines when the book is due, so if you'd like a renewal, please contact us (before the item is due) and we’ll submit a renewal request for it.

The Collection

NEW BOOKS  View recent additions to our collection 



Place a Hold on a Book, CD or DVD

If you'd like to borrow an item that's already on loan, please call us at 794-1865 or fill out a request form to place a hold. We'll notify you when the item is returned to the library so you can borrow it.

Book Request Form

DVD Request Form