LibGuides: NIH Public Access Policy and My NCBI: NIH Public Access Policy

IMPORTANT CHANGES TO NIH PUBLIC ACESS POLICY

NIH Public Access Policy

NIH Public Access Policy
As of April 7, 2008, all articles arising from NIH funds must be submitted to PMC (PubMed Central) upon acceptance for publication.

There are three steps to the NIH manuscript submission process:

electronic Research Administration (eRA Commons)

eRA Commons and My NCBI

When will changes that I make to my bibliography in My NCBI transfer to the eRA Commons?

All changes made in the My NCBI system will appear instantaneously in the eRA Commons.

Can I add a citation to an RPPR via My Bibliography?
You may propose a grant-paper association in My Bibliography, but in order to add a paper to an RPPR, you will have to do so in eRA Commons.For directions on making grant-paper associations in Commons, see eRA Commons User Guide, Section 8.7 Publications (January 2012): Use the NIH Manuscript Submission (NIHMS) System to upload manuscripts or associate papers with your award. You will be automatically logged into the NIHMS with your NIH eRA Commons User ID. You can also submit manuscripts through the NIHMS via the NIH Public Access website.

Frequently Asked eRA Commons Questions and More

Basic Information on NIH Public Access Policy

Overview of NIH Public Access Policy
1. Determine Applicability
2. Address Copyright
3. Submit paper to PMC
4. Include PMCID in Citations
Federal Government Open Access Research Mandate
An Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) memo describing new Federal government requirements affecting U.S. institutions’ Offices of Research.
PD/PIs Must Now Use My NCBI's My Bibliography instead of eRA Commons
principal investigators (PD/PIs) create and maintain extensive professional bibliographies, which include publications resulting from or in support of their funded research grants. NIH is now providing Commons users with a more efficient, accurate and user-friendly way to manage their professional bibliographies, associate publications with their grant awards, and ensure compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy.

more...less...
My NCBI offers an online portal—“My Bibliography”—for users to maintain and manage a list of all of their authored works, such as journal articles, manuscripts accepted for publication, books, and book chapters. As of April 2010, linking a Commons account to a new or existing My NCBI account allows references saved in My Bibliography to automatically appear in users’ Commons accounts.
Scholarly Communications Update: The Blog for WUSM SC Initiative
Locating and Citing the PMCID, NIHMS ID, and “PMC Journal – In Process”

NIH Public Access Policy Details

NIH Open Access Policy A to Z
Learn about grantee compliance, My NCBI and more. Here is a complete run down of policy details and features such as a glossary, copyright considerations and submitting published work to NIH.
more...less...
The Director of the National Institutes of Health shall require that all investigators funded by the NIH submit or have submitted for them to the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed Central an electronic version of their final, peer-reviewed manuscripts upon acceptance for publication, to be made publicly available no later than 12 months after the official date of publication: Provided, That the NIH shall implement the public access policy in a manner consistent with copyright law.

Mandated Steps

Before you sign a publication agreement or similar copyright transfer agreement, make sure that the agreement allows the paper to be posted to PubMed Central (PMC) in accordance with the NIH Public Access Policy.