Skip to main content
Baystate Health About the Library Baystate Education & Research Library Home

Mobile Health & Research Apps at Baystate Health

Accessing Mobile Health Apps at Baystate Health

This page provides Access Instructions for mobile resources to which Health Sciences Library subscribes.  The following process will provide access to most of the apps, with app specific instructions below.

  • Typically, you will need to first create a personal account using the desktop version of the resource
  • Follow the directions given by either the app store of your choice OR the resource website itself
  • Renew your access periodically by either:
    • Logging into your personal account using the web browser while on campus or through 
    • Using the app while connected to the Baystate Health Campus

 

AccessMedicine

The AccessMedicine App is available to users at institutions with an unlimited site license. For download and continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN.

1. Navigate to the AccessMedicine homepage.

2. Click on your institution’s name inside the drop-down box in the upper right-hand corner of any page. Once there, click on “Create a Free Personal Account.”

3. A new window will appear. Click on the “Don’t have a MyAccess account” link.

4. Fill in the registration form under the heading, “Create a MyAccess Account.”

5. Press the CREATE ACCOUNT button and you’re ready to enjoy the benefits of having a My Access account. (To keep your MyAccess account active, you must sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site 

3M™ Littmann® SoundBuilder

The 3M™ Littmann® SoundBuilder  (free app available through i-Tunes) 

 This App is a learning tool designed to help improve the auscultation skills of students and practicing clinicians. There are 14 unique lessons - based upon key heart sounds - that combine text, a virtual mannequin, 3D cardiac animation and dynamic waveforms. 
 

iPad/iPhone App

Access Surgery

The AccessSurgery App is available to users at institutions with an unlimited site license. For download and continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN.

1. Navigate to the AccessSurgery homepage.

2. Click on your institution’s name inside the drop-down box in the upper right-hand corner of any page. Once there, click on “Create a Free Personal Account.”

3. A new window will appear. Click on the “Don’t have a MyAccess account” link.

4. Fill in the registration form under the heading, “Create a MyAccess Account.”

5. Press the CREATE ACCOUNT button and you’re ready to enjoy the benefits of having a My Access account. (To keep your MyAccess account active, you must sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site 

BMJ Best Practice

Answer all of your clinical questions even when offline.

The new BMJ Best Practice app has been shown to make finding clinical answers faster, easier, and more accessible. This means your users can focus on treating patients or developing their knowledge, anytime anywhere.

 

Download PDF instructions here

BrowZine

BrowZine is an app for tablets and smartphones that delivers and lets you browse, read, and save articles from thousands of the library's journals in one newsstand. BrowZine is compatible with iOS and Android tablets and smartphones. BrowZine can also be used on your laptop or computer as BrowZine Web. To use BrowZine on your laptop or personal computer, simply bookmark and go to:  https://browzine.com/libraries/1117/subjects

With BrowZine, you can:

  • Browse journals by subject area and across disciplines
  • Create your own personal journal bookshelf
  • Download articles in full-text in a uniform format, without having to search multiple platforms for what you need
  • Save articles for offline reading and/or export to services like Zotero and Mendeley
  • Get alerts when new articles appear in your favorite journals
  • Add your favorite titles to My Bookshelf: enable easy access to your favorite titles, organized in a way convenient just for you
  • Create multiple reading lists: flag titles for later use and share lists
  • Sync My Bookshelf and reading lists across all devices

To get started with BrowZine:

1.  From a Baystate desktop go to: Baystate Health BrowZine 

2.  Select "My Bookshelf"

3.  Select "Sign Up for BrowZine", enter your email (preferably Baystate's) and a password twice and click on sign up     

You will be prompted to go to your email where you will receive a message from BrowZine to confirm your email address (tip: make sure to open your confirmation email from a baystate PC - not from your device).  Click on green confirm tab.  You now created your own BrowZine account.                                                                                             

CASP (Critical Appraisal Skills Programme)

CASP (Critical Appraisal Skills Programme) offers a convenient way to evaluate the quality and validity of a study by answering a series of questions about the methods used. This app includes an evidence-based medicine glossary and calculators, such as number needed to treat (NNT).

For more information, read the review on iMedicalApps

ClinicalKey

Access Clinical Key on your mobile device using one of these two options: 

  1. Mobile-Optimized Website; comprehensive option includes all Clinical Key content. Requires active web connection.
  2. ClinicalKey App

Initial Use and Authentication Instructions

You must first create a personal account within ClinicalKey while on campus.

  1. Open ClinicalKey
  2. At the top right of the ClinicalKey page, click Register to create a personal account
  3. On your iOS or Android device, visit the App or Google Play store
  4. Search for "ClinicalKey" and install the free ClinicalKey app on your device
  5. After downloading the app, select the option ‘I use ClinicalKey and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the ClinicalKey app.

EBSCO Database Collections

Access EBSCO's many databases on your mobile device using one of these two options: 

  1. Mobile-Optimized Website – The most comprehensive option includes all databases. Requires a web connection.
  2. EBSCO App – Includes all databases in use when first installed.

Initial Use and Authentication Instructions

    • Open Ebsco Database (within baystate only)
    • Scroll to bottom of page and click on: EBSCOhost iPhone/iPod Touch Application  and follow directions.

iPhone/iPad/iPad                                       

See tutorial      

Epocrates Rx



  Icon: Rx

Easy to use drug reference resource.  Paid versions of the Epocrates mobile apps include disease information as well.   (free app available through i-Tunes & Google play store) 

iPhone/iPad App
Andoid App

iMedical Appps

 

http://www.imedicalapps.com/

Mobile Medical App Reviews and Commentary by Medical Professionals.  Direct Access.  

Lexicomp Online

Lexicomp Mobile Apps are available for both iPhone and Android.  Follow this link for download instructions 

Quick reference guide 

The Medical Letter

Access the Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics using a mobile app :

  1. Open the Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics from the Library site
  2. Click on the Mobile Apps link on the left side menu on the screen
  3. Fill out the information to create a personal user login and password
  4. Find the Medical Letter in your preferred app store from your smartphone or tablet
  5. Install it
  6. Login using your newly created Medical Letter ID

Micromedex® NeoFax® Essentials

The Micromedex® NeoFax® Essentials app for Apple devices is AVAILABLE for FREE from the iTunes® App Store for Micromedex customers who have a subscription to NeoFax. Customers can activate the app using the password included with the instructions below. For users who are not current NeoFax customers, the app will be available for a fee.

Simple instructions for installation

Micromedex® Pediatrics Essentials

The Micromedex® Pediatrics Essentials app for Apple and Android™ devices is AVAILABLE for FREE from the iTunes® App Store or Google Play™ store for Micromedex customers who have a subscription to Pediatrics. Customers can activate the app using the password included with the instructions below. For users who are not current Pediatrics customers, the app will be available for a fee. 
 

Simple instructions for installation

OVID Today

OvidToday, an easy-to-use app for your library’s Ovid-subscribed journals, is aimed at providing you and your users with the latest and most-relevant content. This app - available for iPad® and Android™ devices - offers instant access to browse through your institution’s Ovid journals - including multiple issues and Publish Ahead of Print. Plus, users can read or save PDF articles.

Download Instructions for both Android and Apple devices.  or scan QR code

PsychiatryOnline

This technology allows users to “pair” their smartphone or tablet to our institutional subscription.

Once paired, a user can access POL from their mobile device whenever and wherever there is an Internet connection available. Device pairings expire after 90 days, but can be “re-paired” at that time.

Download the Mobile Device Pairing Guide. 

 

 

***Not an App.

Red Book Online

  1. Go to Red Book Online on your desktop. 
  2. Click the "Log In/ Log Out" link on the top left.
  3. Click "Sign In for Individuals." 
  4. Click "New Customer Registration."
    1. Follow the prompts.
    2. When asked who you are creating an account for, click "Individual".
    3. Fill out the form with your information. 
  5. You will receive a confirmation email with an AAP ID. This will be your login ID.
  6. Download the Red Book Online  app from your app store and use the AAP ID and the password you created to log into the website and the app. 
    1. There may be a lag of up to 20 minutes before the app will allow you to login after first creating your AAP ID.
  7. To maintain access, you must sign in to Red Book Online  every 180 days through the Baystate Health network.

For more support, visit the Red Book Mobile Download page.

Rosetta Stone

Whether you are a current online subscriber or trying out Rosetta Stone for the first time, this free app is available for download at the following locations:

itunes

Google Play 

For App detailed instructions click on: Rosetta Stone Language https://support.rosettastone.com/en/language-learning/articles/All-about-Rosetta-Stone-mobile-apps/Training Mobile Application Guide

Request Rosetta Stone  

UpToDate Anywhere

  1. Go to UpToDate
    • On a desktop computer, click on the Log In / Register button in the upper right corner. Fill in the Register (New User) form and Submit Registration.
    • On a mobile device, click the Login button in the upper left corner and then scroll down. Fill in the Register (New User) form and Submit Registration.
    • You will receive a confirmation email after submitting your form.
  2. From your mobile device, go to the Google Play Store, Apple App Store, or Windows Store and download the UpToDate app.
    • If you have trouble finding the app in the store, use the browser on your mobile device to go to http://www.uptodate.com/home/uptodate-mobile-access and use the appropriate download link.
    • Use the login information you created in Step #1 to access the app from your mobile device.
    • You will be asked to Review and Accept the Subscription License Agreement.
  3. You must verify your affiliation with Baystate by logging into UpToDate via a web browser at least once every 90 days.
    • You will need to enter your personal login and password if you are accessing this link from off campus.
    • In-application messages and emails will notify you when you need to re-verify and you can check the date for this by viewing Account Info within the app.  
    •  
    • Registered users will also accrue CME Credits.   Learn how to submit CME credits here:
      http://www.uptodate.com/help/demo/web/cme

      Important! Please note that UpToDate Anywhere accounts expire after 30 days unless you connect to UpToDate through the Baystate CIS Portal or while on campus. Every time you connect through the portal or on campus