Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mobile Health & Research Apps at Baystate Health

About

This page provides Access Instructions for mobile resources to which Library & Knowledge Services subscribes.  The following process will provide access to most of the apps, with app specific instructions below.
  • Typically, you will need to first create a personal account using the desktop version of the resource
  • Follow the directions given by either the app store of your choice OR the resource website itself
  • Renew your access periodically by either:
    • Logging into your personal account using the web browser while on campus or through the remote Baystate network. 
    • Using the app while connected to the Baystate Health Campus
 
  • Please call us at 4.1865 or email us if you need assistance.

Point-of-Care Apps

AccessMedicine                                                


About the App
This diagnosis app includes a suite of McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine diagnostic resources including Diagnosaurus 2.0, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, the Quick Medical Dx & Tx (QMDT), and the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. iPhone, iPad, Blackberry, Android. App will work offline.

Create an Account
1. From a Baystate PC navigate to the AccessMedicine homepage.
2. Click on your institution’s name inside the drop-down box in the upper right-hand corner of any page. Once there, click on “Create a Free Personal Account.”
3. A new window will appear. Click on the “Don’t have a MyAccess account” link.
4. Fill in the registration form under the heading, “Create a MyAccess Account.”
5. Press the CREATE ACCOUNT button and you’re ready to enjoy the benefits of having a My Access account. 

Updates & Expiration
The AccessMedicine App is available to users at institutions with an unlimited site license. For download and continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN.

See additional information


Icon image

Prevention TaskForce (formerly ePSS)             

About the App
The Prevention TaskForce (formerly ePSS) application assists primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients.

Free App

                    

Clinical Key                                                        

About the App
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine and point-of-care database that provides access to thousands of online resources. Users searching ClinicalKey will find: Medical Textbooks - Over 1,200 online textbooks from a variety of healthcare professions.

Create an Account

  1. From a Baystate PC open ClinicalKey
  2. At the top right of the ClinicalKey page, click Register to create a personal account
  3. On your iOS or Android device, visit the App or Google Play store
  4. Search for "ClinicalKey" and install the free ClinicalKey app on your device
  5. After downloading the app, select the option ‘I use ClinicalKey and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the ClinicalKey app.
 

Epocrates                                                         

About the App
Access to up-to-date information and resources designed to help you make more informed clinical decisions. See how epocrates® can help support you throughout your day.

Free App

Red Book Online (AAP)        

Message from the publisher:

On June 1, 2021, the AAP mobile apps Red Book Online (RBO) and Pediatric Care Online (PCO) were retired to align with our efforts to provide the most updated content with the best user experience to our members and customers.

                                 

 Reprotox                                                        

 About the App
 Reprotox contains summaries on the effects of medications, chemicals, infections, and physical agents on pregnancy,   reproduction, and development.  

 Please contact the library for access information when downloading app.

 

                   
           

STAT!Ref                                                          

About the App
STAT!Ref is a reputable healthcare e-resource enabling users to intuitively cross-search full-text, evidence-based and authoritative resources. With 300+ resources currently offered in over 50 healthcare disciplines, STAT!Ref provides the latest healthcare information in a customizable and convenient format. 

Create an Account

  1. Direct your browser to TDS Health.
  2. Click on the Profile link above the search bar.
  3. Click on Register in the Profile Login box.
  4. Complete the required information and then click on Register Now.
  5. Go to the drop-down menu next to Welcome and "your name" at the top of the page and click on Anywhere Login Account.
  6. Click on the blue Activate button.
  7. When your account is activated, you will see an expiration date.
  8. On your mobile device, download the STAT!Ref App and log in with your Anywhere Login Account information.

Updates & Expiration
An email reminder for users of Anywhere Login Accounts is sent 10 days and then again 1 day prior to expiration. You can still renew even if your login expires. You just won’t be able to use the app until you renew the Anywhere Login Account. 

See additional information

UpToDate Anywhere                                                              

About the App 
UpToDate® Anywhere is premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource authored by physicians to help healthcare practitioners make the best decisions at the point of care.  UpToDate® Anywhere registrants and individual subscribers can answer their clinical questions anytime, anywhere by downloading this App for iOS onto their iPad®, iPhone®, or iPod touch®.

  1. From a Baystate PC, go to the Library Website http://libraryinfo.bhs.org and click on "UpToDate" (under selected resources)
  2. Click on login/register on top right side of page
  3. Create a new account by filling the text fields on the right half of the page. Remember the user  name and password that you create.
  4. On your mobile device, download the UpToDate app via the App Store (for iPhone and iPad) or   
     the Google Play Store (for Android devices).        

Open the app and log in with the user name and password that you just created. Registered users will also accrue CME Credits.   Learn how to submit CME credits here: http://www.uptodate.com/help/demo/web/cme

Updates & Expiration
Please note that UpToDate Anywhere accounts expire after 90 days unless you connect to UpToDate through the Baystate CIS Portal or while on campus. Every time you connect through the portal or on campus the account is reset for another 30 days automatically.

See additional information

Icon image    

VisualDx Mobile                                                 


About the App

VisualDx is a visual reference tool for medical professionals that aids therapeutic decisions and improves patient safety.

Create an Account
1.  From an Baystate PC go to visualdx.com/visualdx.
2. C
lick Create a Personal Account and fill out the information to create a personal login account.
3.  Download the 
VisualDx App and enter the username and password you created in Step #2. Congratulations, you’re ready to go!

   

 

Drug Information & Prescribing Apps

Icon image

Lexicomp Online                                              

App Description

Within the single Lexicomp app, you can access your complete subscription of timely, in-depth information on drugs, natural products, interactions, medical calculations and more – whether in the hospital, the pharmacy, or on the go.

Create an Account

  1. Visit https://www.lexi.com/account/ and create an account.  See instructions here under "Enterprise Users"
  2. Download and open the Lexicomp app on your device.
  3. Read the license agreement and tap Accept.
  4. Enter your email and password and tap Sign In. If you forgot your password, click Forgot Password.
  5. You will receive an Account Synced message. Tap OK to this message.
  6. You must download the databases before you can begin accessing your subscription.
  7. Place check marks next to the databases you wish to install, or tap Select All and then tap Update.
  8. If prompted, tap OK.
  9. After the update is complete, tap the Menu button in the top right corner and tap Home.
  10. Select an icon to begin accessing your Lexicomp Mobile App subscription. 

Updates & Expirations

  1. Access  http://www.lexi.com/account/code and login with your Lexicomp login/password.
  2. In the Subscriptions section, locate Add a Subscription by Code, then paste the authorization code.
  3. You will receive an email with a 5-character PIN at your registered email address; enter the PIN into the Verify PIN field then click Verify.
  4. Click Finish
  5. On your phone/iPad/handheld, open the Lexicomp app and select ‘Update’.

See additional information

The Medical Letter                                           

App Description
Critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drug classes for common diseases. iPhone, iPad, Android.

Create an Account
Register at The Medical Letter to access mobile app 

mobilePDR app                                               


About the App  
mobilePDR® is the OFFICIAL drug information app from PDR, allowing healthcare professionals FREE access to the current drug prescribing information available. Fast and easy to use, mobilePDR employs a simple, but powerful, search tool with access to thousands of drug summaries continually updated by PDR within a week of manufacturers' updates.

Create an Account
Download the app then create free personal login/password to access.

See additional information

 

Research Apps

BrowZine                                                           


About the App

BrowZine is an app for tablets and smartphones that delivers and lets you browse, read, and save articles from thousands of the library's journals in one newsstand. BrowZine is compatible with iOS and Android tablets and smartphones. BrowZine can also be used on your laptop or computer as BrowZine Web.

Create an Account
1.  From a Baystate desktop go to: Baystate Health BrowZine 
2.  Select "My Bookshelf"
3.  Select "Sign Up for BrowZine", enter your email (preferably Baystate's) and a password twice and click on sign up     

You will be prompted to go to your email where you will receive a message from BrowZine to confirm your email address (tip: make sure to open your confirmation email from a baystate PC - not from your device).  Click on green confirm tab.  You now created your own BrowZine account.    

Follow these steps on your Mobile Devices:

STEP 1 

Open the app and select " Baystate Health" from list provided by either searching or scrolling.

STEP 2

The next screen will have Baystate's logo and will indicate that you need to use BrowZine Pairing Service for remote authentication.  Tap “continue”.

 STEP 3 

After a brief loading screen you will be prompted to login or sign up for a BrowZine Account.  Enter your login info.

 

 

  STEP 4  

A screen will be presented allowing you to pair by email by clicking on the white button.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Step 5

You will receive a second email that is a pairing confirmation. 
This email MUST be clicked from within Baytate's network either
on a desktop computer or a laptop configured with the Baystate network.

 

 Step 6

The link in the email will get you to a page asking you to sign in with the BrowZine Account you recently created.

 

                     

 STEP 7

If you are indeed within the Baystate network you will get a
confirmation that your device is now paired and you can return
to BrowZine on your device 

 

 

 STEP 8 

Return to the BrowZine app and click the red “try again” button.  BrowZine will recognize that you completed the pairing process and let you in.  Log in and access Baystate journals. 

.

 

**You may have to turn off the Baystate public wifi in order to download and view our journal articles (Baystate terms & conditions agreement may interfere with access)

Need additional assistance?   Click on this link to see pairing video and FAQ's 

Updates & Expirations

You can always go to the SETTINGS tab within BrowZine to see how much time you have left in the pairing.  Pairing starts out at 90 days, so if you just completed this you now have 89 days left.

Once this time expires you will be prompted to re-pair your device again. Alternatively, you can avoid this by periodically using BrowZine (just launching the app) within the institutional wi-fi if possible.  This automatically will bring you back up to 90 days.

 

Clinical Key                                                  

About the App
The ClinicalKey app offers access to hundis a clinical search engine from Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services. When every second counts, ClinicalKey knows what clinicians need: fast answers built on trusted evidence.

Create an AccountFrom a Baystate PC open ClinicalKey

  1. At the top right of the ClinicalKey page, click Register to create a personal account
  2. On your iOS or Android device, visit the App or Google Play store
  3. Search for "ClinicalKey" and install the free ClinicalKey app on your device
  4. After downloading the app, select the option ‘I use ClinicalKey and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the ClinicalKey app.

Ebsco Mobile                                               

About the App
Use the EBSCO Mobile App to access peer-reviewed content from databases such as CINAHL and Medline.  

Create an Account 
After opening the EBSCO App, use the Find my Library feature to sign in with your institutional credentials. If you need these credentials, please see your administrator to get them.  Note: If your institution has configured IP authentication AND you are using your device within your institution's IP range, you will be “silently” logged in to the app without needing to enter login credentials.

Open the App and tap Get Started.
Tap the search box to find your library or tap Use my location to find a library near your physical location.
Select your institution from the list and click Next. Tap Continue to allow the app to continue to sign you in.
Log in via the method provided by your institution. (User Name/Password, Patron ID, etc.)OR If you have already created a personal user account, you can sign in with your personal account credentials.

See additional information

Rosetta Stone                                            

About the App
The program has three components, RS Course, RS Studio and RS World, and uses special features such as intelligent sequencing, actionable feedback, and speech activation using speech recognition technology. 

PLEASE NOTE: Federal and state law as well as the Joint Commission mandate that Baystate Health provides trained medical interpreters to patients with limited or no fluency in English. Use of these educational tools is for relationship-building purposes only.

Language learning in 24 languages through Rosetta Stone's e-learning option.  Sign up for access with this REQUEST FORM.  

 

 

eTextbooks & eBooks

                                              

AccessMedicine                                                                                 


About the App
This diagnosis app includes a suite of McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine diagnostic resources including Diagnosaurus 2.0, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, the Quick Medical Dx & Tx (QMDT), and the Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. iPhone, iPad, Blackberry, Android. App will work offline.

Create an Account
1. From a Baystate PC navigate to the AccessMedicine homepage.
2. Click on your institution’s name inside the drop-down box in the upper right-hand corner of any page. Once there, click on “Create a Free Personal Account.”
3. A new window will appear. Click on the “Don’t have a MyAccess account” link.
4. Fill in the registration form under the heading, “Create a MyAccess Account.”
5. Press the CREATE ACCOUNT button and you’re ready to enjoy the benefits of having a My Access account. (To keep your MyAccess account active, you must sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site 

Updates & Expiration
The AccessMedicine App is available to users at institutions with an unlimited site license. For download and continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN.

See additional information

Clinical Key                                                                       

About the App

The ClinicalKey app offers access to hundreds of Elsevier reference books, such as Ferri's Clinical Advisor, Goldman-Cecil Medicine, and Mosby's Pocket Guide to Cultural Health Assessment.,

Create an Account

  1. From a Baystate PC open ClinicalKey
  2. At the top right of the ClinicalKey page, click Register to create a personal account
  3. On your iOS or Android device, visit the App or Google Play store
  4. Search for "ClinicalKey" and install the free ClinicalKey app on your device
  5. After downloading the app, select the option ‘I use ClinicalKey and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the ClinicalKey app.
Red Book Online (AAP)              

Message from the publisher:

On June 1, 2021, the AAP mobile apps Red Book Online (RBO) and Pediatric Care Online (PCO) were retired to align with our efforts to provide the most updated content with the best user experience to our members and customers.