EBP in Context
A brief introductory video (4:07) that covers the five steps of practicing evidence-based medicine. Courtesy of Allison Piazza, Health Sciences Librarian at Seton Hall University.
EBP Resources
Evidence-Based Information Sites
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford University)
The Centre promotes evidence-based health care and provide support and resources to anyone who wants to make use of them. Includes the EBM Toolbox, an assortment of materials which are very useful for practitioners of EBM, and EBM Teaching Materials, including PowerPoint presentations.
Evidence-Based Medicine (Duke University)
A selective list of EBM websites and resources.
EBM Toolbox (Knowledge Translation Program, Toronto)
Includes many resources for practicing and teaching EBM.
Evidence-Based Medicine Toolkit (BMJ Best Practice)
Text-based tutorials/articles on learning, practicing and discussing EBM.
Resources for Evidence-Based Practice (McMaster University)
The core concepts of EBP and a list of additional resources.
Evidence-Based Medicine Guide and Tutorials (University of Illinois Chicago)
Step-by-step guide with examples, tutorials, and additional resources for conducting EBP.
Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorials
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice
From Duke University Medical Center Library and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Library & Knowledge Services.
SUNY Health Sciences Evidence-Based Medicine Course
From SUNY Downstate Medical Research Library of Brooklyn.
Subject Guide
Ebooks
Evidence Based Practice: A Decision-Making Guide for Health Information Professionals by ISBN: 9798218342494Publication Date: 2024Introduces EBP to newcomers and serves as a resource for experienced practitioners.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by ISBN: 9780702070488Publication Date: 2020Explains how to find, critically appraise, and interpret a range of research studies and offers practical advice on how to communicate risks and benefits to patients. Includes strategic concepts of developing an organizational evidence-based culture and making evidence-based changes at the organizational level.
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine and Healthcare by ISBN: 9781119484745Publication Date: 2019An introduction to EBM and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. From searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics, this book also includes discussion of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more.
Need help searching?
- Literature Search FormA librarian will search relevant databases for articles, guidelines and other information on your topic.
Contact a librarian if you would like some help searching for information on your topic or tracking down the full text of an article. That's why we're here!
- Article Request FormRequest the full text of a specific article from our document delivery office.