Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Resources on Burnout
AHRQ Patient Safety Network:Burnout among health professionals and its effect on patient safety
February 2016 Perspectives on Safety by Audrey Lyndon, PhD. The literature attests to the prevalence of burnout among healthcare workers and its potential to compromise patient safety. Calls for call for a system-wide strategy to improve safety by fostering clinician engagement in improvement work - which aligns well with national (NPSF) and international safety recommendations related to clinical burnout. Focuses on addressing the impact of the workplace on clinician physical and psychological health.
Other Licensed Content Available at Baystate
Burnout Research is a peer-reviewed international journal aimed at presenting basic, translational and clinical high-quality research related to the phenomenon of burnout. Presents basic, translational and clinical high-quality research related to the phenomenon of burnout. Focus in three areas: Cutting-edge research that lays out new directions for the burnout field; Critical reviews that provide comprehensive and integrative analyses and, Translational research studies that assess promising interventions.
Journal of Psychiatric Research
Found in: journals
Elsevier 01/2007 - Current Access Information: ClinicalKey 01/2007 - Current
ISSN (print):0022-3956ISSN (electronic):1879-1379
NEJM Resident 360
Resident Burnout: a Podcast discussion
Listen to a podcast recording on managing resident burnout, from New England Journal of Medicine's Resident 360 program, Later, set up a free personal account for other Resident 360 Programs, rotation preparation for over a dozen residencies, learning lab tips, discussions and more!
Helpful Databases for Information on Burnout
Health Business Elite
The full-text, comprehensive coverage of approximately 600 journals covering the non clinical aspects of health care including all aspects of healthcare administration, personnel management, business and finance, and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management. Updated on a daily basis.
Published by the American Psychological Association.
One of the most comprehensive databases, covers professional and academic literature in psychology since 1987. Covers approximately 2,000 journals plus books and book chapters. Includes all behavioral aspects of health and bioscience. Includes fields of pharmacology, nursing, medicine, sociology, education, physiology and more.
Comprehensive, full-text search of the latest DSM, core text books and books in the field of psychiatry, APA Guidelines and more.
The most comprehensive source of biomedical information the world over, including coverage of mental health and behavioral topics and the literature of psychology. Covers almost 6,000 journals and offers subject terms including BURNOUT, and offers search alert feature for daily updates.
Comprehensive citation database to peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Over half of subject coverage in the social and health sciences. Provides a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, and more than 60 million records - all going back to 2003. Included are:
•Over 21,500 peer-reviewed journals, of which more than 4,200 are full open access (see the Scopus Source List)
•Over 360 trade publications
And, more than 120,000 references to books.