Skip to Main Content

Baystate Nursing (Shared Governance and Magnet): Nursing Quality and Safety Council

This libguide will provide you with the overview of our nursing shared governance structure and link you to individual council pages. For additional information about any of these topics or the content contained within, please contact us at x42496.

Council Leadership

Chair: Melissa Tuomi

Co-Chair: Maureen Nomakeo

Secretary (open)


Council Structure

The Nursing Quality and Safety Council is comprised of clinical nurses who have a role in quality improvement.    This group reports to the BMC Patient Safety Committee annually and the Performance Improvement Coordinating Council on a quarterly basis.

Committees that report up through, or provide regular updates to, the NQSC include:

  • Pain Resource Nurses
  • CAUTI Champions
  • Getting to Zero (CLABSI)
  • Fall Prevention Committee
  • Skin Integrity Committee
  • Nursing Peer Review

In addition, the Department of Hospital Quality (DHQ) provides the group with regular updates on progress toward BMC strategic goals so that we may remain agile and support the improvement efforts across the continuum of care.

Each month, as part of our shared governance day, the co-chairs of the following committees meet to discuss trends and themes that emerged from their meetings over the month:

  • Nursing Quality and Safety Council
  • Nursing Professional Excellence/Magnet Council
  • Clinical Practice Committee  (CPC)
  • Nursing Research, Innovations, and Inquiry Council (NRIIC)
  • Management Operations Council (MOC)
  • Professional Development Council (PDC)

This allows us to track these trends and work together to address each element of the solution, from evidence base, to practice, to oversight and accountability.

Director of Professional Practice, Nursing Research & Quality Melissa Tuomi, PhD, RN

baystate health sciences library 759 Chestnut St., Springfield, MA 01199
tel: 413.794.1865 | fax: 413.794.1974 | contact us