Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Requesting a Literature Search
Even if you are not sure you want to request a literature search, fill out the request form and a librarian will get back to you with helpful information. You may either call the library at X 4-1865 or complete the search request form and one of the Information & Knowledge Services Librarians will create a list of quality journal articles customized to your topic by searching one of our online databases.
Databases for Searching the Literature
CINAHL® covers the nursing and allied health literature from 1982 to the present. It indexes 2,593 English language journals in nursing and allied health disciplines and includes administrative and management aspects of the nursing profession and health care in general.
Cengage Learning is a leading provider of innovative teaching, learning and research solutions for the academic, professional and library markets worldwide
Provides journal content detailing aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management
One of the most comprehensive databases covering psychology related literature from 1987 to the present. Every month it updates almost two thousand journals, chapters, books and other material in over 35 languages. PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and all behavioral aspects of health and biosciences, including: education, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, and sociology. Has over 1.8 million individual records, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927 and the American Journal of Psychology back to the first issues
PubMed (MEDLINE®) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains over 16 million references to scholarly biomedical journal articles from 1950 to the present, updated daily. Citations are from approximately 5,000 journals in 37 languages, and are linked to free full-text, and/or Baystate full-text holdings when accessed from Library website. Includes business, administrative and management aspects of health care.
Search library collections around the world for books, and digital items through WorldShare ILL ’s global network of library content. Locate an item in a library near you. Identify the perfect book from over 2 billion titles. Resources are available in many languages.
Getting Articles on Your Topic
Journal articles are a great way to survey the current take on just about any topic whether it be clinical, administrative, education or other aspect of health care - or just about anything else! The most systematic and efficient way of identifying current journal articles that are relevant to your topic is to undertake a literature search of one of the library's many online databases - either yourself or by asking an expert search intermediary at the Library & Knowledge Services. A literature search will generate a customized list of articles on your subject, complete with full citation (author, title, journal, pages and date) and even an informative abstract summary that tells you the scope and even the conclusions of the article. The library has dozens of licensed databases, indexing millions of articles covered by thousands of journals. And if we don't own a journal, we will nevertheless obtain the article itself through our document sharing, interlibrary loan networks. Click here to request an interlibrary loan.